Bytes to Bites


Slow Cooker Jambalaya
February 12, 2012, 5:48 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Slow Cooker | Tags: ,

Introduction:

I love jambalaya, but it takes a bit to make. Surprisingly, I had great difficulty finding a recipe that would work in the slow cooker and be ready when I got home from work. This recipe was not perfect, but it was good to come home to a finished meal.

Ingredients:

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes

1 lb smoked turkey sausage, sliced

1 (28 oz) can diced tomatoes with juice

3tbsp dried minced onion flakes

1 cup chicken broth

2 tsp dried oregano

2 tsp dried parsley

2 tsp minced garlic

2 tsp Cajun seasoning

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1 lb cooked shrimp

2 cups instant rice (I used Uncle Ben’s 15 minutes rice)

Instructions:

1. In a slow cooker, mix the chicken, sausage, tomatoes with juice, onion, garlic, celery, and broth. Season with oregano, parsley, Cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper and thyme. (I did this the night before and put it in the fridge until morning when I added I put it into the slow cooker).

2. Cover and cook 7 to 8 hours on low or 3 to 4 hours on high. Mix in cooked shrimp and cooked rice for about 15 minutes or until rice is tender.

Comments:

There were a few things I changed from the original recipe. First I added shrimp. I used cooked shrimp, but you could probably used raw as well with a bit more cooking time at the end. We also substituted the turkey sausage for some venison jalapeno smokies we had, adding a bit of extra spice. Finally, we also added some crab meat which was good, but not something I’ll do every time. We don’t have a great tolerance for spice and found this to be a bit on the spicy side. It might have been because of the extra spice in the sausage, but I would probably adjust the spice down just a bit next time I make it. To me, it wasn’t quite a true jambalaya, but was good for a ready to go meal in the slow cooker.

Our Home Rating? 2/5 bites

Source: Blog – http://www.plainchicken.com/Pinterst

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

